Post #2….You Did Say What?!

Rob and Kim date    Now you would think after our disastrous first date, (you need to read my first post on “How to make a disastrous impression on a first date” to fully understand this post) that Rob would have gone to great lengths and pulled out all the stops in order to impress me for our second date.  And so I thought he had when he called and asked me out to dinner, and then a show.  Not a movie, but a real live musical show.

I got all gussied up in some really nice dress slacks, a blouse, and of course high heels.  Heels should be a staple in every woman’s closet!

He picked me up, and we set off.  When we pulled up and I got out of the car, I realized that something was terribly wrong.  My butt was soaking wet.  I was extremely embarrassed, and told him that I did not feel as if I had wet my pants, but that they were indeed incredibly wet, and I just couldn’t understand what had happened.

All of the sudden he got this sheepish grin on his face, and suddenly remembered how he and his buddies had gone to the lake earlier that day.  He of course, had given them a ride home in their wet swimming trunks.  Oh, and you guessed it, they had sat in my seat on the ride home!

I asked him to walk right behind me into the restaurant, and I quickly went in the ladies restroom, removed my pants, and held them under the hand dryer trying to get them as dry as possible.  I did get quite a few curious looks.

They were still a bit damp throughout dinner and the show, but hey on the bright side at least I had survived the date with everything intact, and nothing broken!  As the show came to a close they were doing a survey on the back of the program, and after everything that I had gone through and endured with this man…he had the gall to put down that we were “just friends”. Really?!

by Kim Carlisle

2 thoughts on “Post #2….You Did Say What?!

    • Hey Heather,
      You actually missed reading about our very first date. “How to make a good impression on a first date”. The one you read was actually our second date. I was wondering how you get your posts so little like they are on facebook. Mine are the whole page, and I am not quite sure how to make them smaller. I am glad that you responded back to me. I am looking forward to getting to know you better. Our boys are all now teenagers, and since yours are small you have a long way to go! I think I didn’t get a nap for 6 years. But good luck to you, and hopefully we will get to swap stories about being a mom, and the funny things that our kids do.
      Take care, Kim

Leave a comment