#61….The New Years’ Grinch

IMG_1165Here we are ringing in another new year, and with that some of us are making those all- important resolutions.  As the ball is heading down, and we are counting off the final moments of the previous year, we have our list all ready and a new resolve that THIS year we WILL stick to the resolutions and goals that we have made for ourselves to conquer and achieve.

The question I am posing to those who are making resolutions is this;  What makes January 1st of any new year such a magical date?  Why when we want to change something about ourselves, or achieve a new goal, must we wait for that date?  Say we notice in July that we are gaining a little more weight than we would like, do we really need to wait until January 1st to start losing that weight?  Loosing weight always seems the #1 resolution each New Year.

As you might have guessed by now, I am one of those that does not get the idea of setting New Years’ resolutions.  I think if you decide there are some changes you would like to make in your life, then you should work towards making them.  I wouldn’t wait until January 1st, which statistics show, isn’t that magical a date at all.  Here are some that I found.  I did notice that the people 50 & over that meet their resolution is smaller than those in their 20’s.  I figure it is because by that age we have figured out it just isn’t worth the effort to make resolutions when we know if we haven’t changed what we wanted to by then, chances are we aren’t going to.  While the young people are still young and naive enough to believe it can still happen.

Less you think I am a total Grinch, I really am not.  Even though I don’t believe in New Years’ resolutions, I do believe that people can make positive changes in their lives.  I just don’t think they have to happen on January 1st.  And I do want to wish everyone a healthy and happy New Year, filled with peace, joy, and lots of laughter & happiness.

Written by Kim Carlisle

News Years Resolution Statistics Data
Percent of Americans who usually   make New Year’s Resolutions 45%
Percent of people who are   successful in achieving their resolution 8%
Percent who have infrequent   success 49%
Age Success Rates Data
Percent of people in their   twenties who achieve their resolution each year 39%
Percent of people over 50 who   achieve their resolution each year 14%
Length of Resolutions Data
Resolution maintained through   first week 75%
Past two weeks 71%
Past one month 64%
Past six months 46%

4 thoughts on “#61….The New Years’ Grinch

  1. I agree with you. Our boys have never made New Year’s resolutions, but we have always worked with them on having goals, and achieving those goals. Long term & short term goals. I have the same for me. I had a great Holiday Season, & I hope you did the same. My one wish for this year is that those of us that suffer with pain, may it not be as bad this year. 🙂

Leave a comment